A full-time employee who works 40 hours a week at the rate of $7.25 per hour earns $15,080 per year. That's not enough. The minimum wage has steadily declined over the last 50 years, as shown by the graph in our logo. In 1968, the minimum wage was $1.60 per hour. If that rate was increased with inflation, the current minimum wage would be $11.00 per hour.
Employers are required to pay the higher of either the federal or their state's minimum wage. Ohio's minimum wage is $8.15 per hour. Therefore, Ohio employers must pay $8.15 per hour. Ohio's minimum wage increases with inflation. The current $8.15 rate became effective on January 1, 2017. In 2016, Ohio's minimum wage was $8.10.
If you're paid the minimum wage, don't assume your employer is complying with the minimum wage laws. Your employer must pay you the minimum wage for all of the hours you work. Don't focus on your scheduled hours. Focus on all of the hours you work.
If you answer "yes" to any of the following questions, you are likely owed minimum wages:
Maybe a lot. If you're paid $8.15 an hour in Ohio, and worked an extra 5 hours per week over the last 3 years before and after your shift, you could be owed $6,357 in minimum wages. Plus you get triple damages under Ohio law.
You’ve come to the right place if you need a team of lawyers who know about these areas of law. If you want to learn about these areas of law for yourself, we have you covered. Visit one of our informational websites.
The average American employee loses $2,600 each year to wage theft. Most employees don’t even know it’s happening to them. We combat wage theft with the overtime and minimum wage laws. Watch this video to learn more.
Start Wage Theft Survey
Copyright The Lazzaro Law Firm, LLC. All Rights Reserved